No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. Technical Support

TinyPilot has been perfect for months, suddenly USB input lag. Reboot doesn't help :(

By @khmann
    2022-11-07 15:07:29.509Z

Hey guys, our TP has been perfect for months. Suddenly, I've got about a 1 second delay between each key (!) arriving at the host. I've rebooted through the UI and CLI, no change.

I grabbed a shareable log, https://logs.tinypilotkvm.com/DdW0xGP3 if that helps. I've had this problem happen before, and resolved it by some combination of power cycle or unplug-replug sequence, unfortunately this unit is locked away in a datacenter that I was hoping not to visit until next month.

Anything we can try to reset this? Thanks!

• 5 replies
    1. K
      @khmann
        2022-11-07 15:44:43.007Z2022-11-07 15:59:45.764Z

Uh, nevermind I guess? Suddenly it's back to normal and I haven't rebooted. I'm a UNIX networking guy by trade, so I did check all the bandwidths and latencies, etc., so I guess it fixed itself?
        I went ahead and got another log https://logs.tinypilotkvm.com/E7BPFyDW incase you're interested.

EDIT: NOPE! No sooner did I close this tab then it came back - https://logs.tinypilotkvm.com/LoRt91Gs
        The issue seems unaffected by browser restarts (Safari, Firefox). I've been pinging it, and latency rarely exceeds 50ms.

I've gotten my work done for now, and the key input latency seems to be intermittantly better, but if you've got any ideas for the future I'll take 'em

1. C
          In reply tokhmann:

Hi @khmann - thanks for reaching out to us with your query about lag.

There can be a number of different causes for latency and lag. Can you please let me know how you're connecting to your TinyPilot device (e.g. local network, private VPN, cloud VPN provider etc)? Are any other elements affected by the same lag (e.g. mouse movement or the rest of the TinyPilot web interface)?

1. K@khmann
              2022-11-08 22:40:33.939Z