No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. Technical Support

Update Failed // Not Working with AMOS KVM

By Software Consulting @consultingcompany
    2022-12-10 02:03:29.980Z

I've had a Tinypilot since March since I began my software consulting journey. As I settled into my roles, the use for an IP-KVM waned, but I liked how the TinyPilot worked out of the box. I let it collect dust since February.

Recently, the need to control input remotely on multiple computers has risen again. I bought the AMOS KVM (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0817YFJKW) and basically got everything working except for the hotkey switching.

After doing some research, I found out the problem was something something yada yada related to the way the TinyPilot emulates HID or something (I'm not that technical past the command line), and there was a certain version of the software that allowed you to turn of HID emulation or something that will allow the TinyPilot to work with the AMOS switch.

I tried to update the TinyPilot Software through the web interface, and now it's botched. I am posting here for help to solve the following two problems.

1. updating through the webUI failed/broke the software. How do I fix this so the TinyPilot at least works again?
    2. Can I get a version that works with the AMOS KVM so I can control multiple computers?

Thank You so much

• 4 replies
    1. C

Hi @consultingcompany - thanks for your message, I'm sorry to hear you've had issues updating.

I've looked into using the AIMOS KVM with TinyPilot and there are a couple of factors to consider. The first is that the AIMOS KVM is unusual in that it draws power from the HDMI ports and so it is recommended that you use a powered HDMI splitter to avoid stability issues. The second is that the AIMOS KVM appears to be incompatible with the virtual media feature that was added to TinyPilot Pro in version 1.5.0.