No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. Technical Support

Tinypilot not connecting to new router

By Tejas Shah @tshah
    2023-03-04 05:52:41.572Z2023-03-04 06:35:50.291Z

I have been using tinypilot for 3 months and it was working perfectly good. But I got a new router and not i am not able to connect to the tinypilot anymore do i need to reset something? Also if i connect my old router back it starts working again.

Solved in post #12, click to view
    • 13 replies

There are 13 replies. Estimated reading time: 13 minutes

1. F
      Don Eitner @FreihEitner
        2023-03-05 04:12:47.602Z

Going on very little detail, it is hard to say. Is your TinyPilot setup with a static or a dynamic IP address? If it is static, can you ping that IP from any computer on the local network? (you could do this with dynamic IP as well, but you'd need to find out what IP your new router assigned to the TinyPilot) If you go into the configuration of your new router, does it show your TinyPilot as a connected device?

1. TTejas Shah @tshah
            2023-03-05 04:51:29.956Z

i am not super tech savy but to answer your first question yes i am able to access tinypilot from any device. also i am not sure if i need to have static or dynamic for my tinypilot to work

1. A@Alt0
                2023-03-05 05:00:45.496Z2023-03-05 05:07:49.956Z

(Not person above)
                Neither / auto. Don’t give TP a Static IP, unless you know exactly what you are trying to do. Just allow for Dynamic (DHCP) to be assigned via the router. Ensure also that your new router is set to DHCP (that is, it is handing out IP Addesses). Also don’t DHCP Reserve an IP in the router via its MAC, unless you had that setup before in Router 1 and that’s what made it work. What’s the last 2 groups of your Router 1 and Router 2 IPs?
                Both xxx.xxx.1.1 ?