No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. Technical Support

Remote control mac book pro.

By Hello IT @gmettn
    2023-06-29 17:30:15.706Zassigned to
    • @cghague

Hello sir

I am very new to the KVM space. Looking for suggestions.

My requirement is below: I have a mac book pro and a HP windows laptop with a wireless mouse and keyboard in usa. HP windows laptop hosts a zoom call and share screen and grants control to a friend in xyz country.

My friend is in xyz country, and he wants to connect to Mac book pro and control the mouse and keyboard. My friend Viewing the Mac book pro screen is optional. Could you please let me know if this solution is possible using any of your products ? - also, I don’t want any software/drivers to be installed on Mac bookpro.

Hope to see some comments and suggestions.

• 9 replies
    1. C

Hi @gmettn, thanks for reaching out with your questions about controlling a MacBook Pro.

A TinyPilot device plugs directly into a target computer using HDMI and USB, allowing a client computer on the same network to control the target computer. A remote user could then control the client computer using a Zoom screen share. The client computer would need sufficient resources to simultaneously handle the TinyPilot and Zoom apps, plus a high-quality network connection to the TinyPilot device and the remote user.

In your scenario, the MacBook Pro would be the target computer, and the HP laptop would be the client. It might be worth noting that, although you wouldn't need to install any drivers or software on the MacBook Pro, someone could still detect the TinyPilot device in various ways.

1. GHello IT @gmettn
          2023-06-30 19:17:50.379Z

Thanks a bunch. I have more questions:

Can the mac book pro be controlled by my friend from a different country ?

Do I need to attach a wired / wireless mouse and keyboard for this to happen ?

Or just the inbuilt mac book pro mouse pad and keyboard are good?

Does the voyager have wifi?