No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. General

how to start add feature to tinypilot

By @binooetomo
    2023-12-05 05:04:25.811Z

Hi ...
    I have some knowledge on Python Flask, and Arduino.
    I want to to try to add feature to tinypilot so that tinypilot able to do remote ATX controll to managed node.

It'll consist of:
    a. A python script that extend existing flask script
    b. A python script that act as worker (must be started every boot time)

1. Is there any documentation where to put files on tinypilot for the scripts?
    2. Is it breaking the law if it will need redis installed?. I will need it since I will use RS232 to communicate to managed nodes. so it will single threaded. need kind of queueing system to anticipate operational request.
    3. Is it breaking the law if it'll need tinypilot to have and import additional python modules (i.e: celery)

Sincerely
    -bino-

• 2 replies
    1. Thanks for reaching out!

Is there any documentation where to put files on tinypilot for the scripts?

We don't document it, but it should be straightforward to find where a file lives by looking at where similar files currently live.

We do have documentation here:

Is it breaking the law if it will need redis installed?. I will need it since I will use RS232 to communicate to managed nodes. so it will single threaded. need kind of queueing system to anticipate operational request.

Is it breaking the law if it'll need tinypilot to have and import additional python modules (i.e: celery)

It's not breaking TinyPilot rules, but we also wouldn't be accepting changes that add power control into the main codebase. We can help you manage your own fork and point people to it when they request power control, but we don't have the bandwidth to support power control features.